The Chief of State is the President, who carries the official title President of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan.

The Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan was ratified on January 26th, 2004 by the Loya Jirga (grand assembly). The Constitution provides the framework for the Government and defines its three main branches:

1. The Executive
The President is also Head of Government. The number and titles of the Cabinet Ministers are decided by the President and approved by the National Assembly.

2. The Legislative
The National Assembly is the highest legislative organ in Afghanistan. It is bicameral, and consists of the Wolesi Jirga (House of the People) and the Meshrano Jirga (House of Elders).

3. The Judiciary
The Stera Mahkama (supreme court) is supervised by nine justices, all appointed by the president and approved by the Wolesi Jirga. The Stera Mahkama is subordinated by high courts and appeals courts.

For an unofficial translation of the Constitution on the President’s website, please visit:

Embassy of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, Oslo
Gange-Rolvs gate 5  -  0244 Oslo  -  Norway  -  Phone: + 47 22 12 35 70

Powered by Kréatif AS